Are You A Critical Thinker, Or Just A Stinker?

Limitless. Lucy. The Lazarus Effect. Mythbusters.

We constantly hear on television and movies about humans can only use ten percent of their brain.

In fact, people feel that certain drugs, ergogenic aids, or special mental training will allow them to access this mysterious other 90% that will give humans unheard of abilities. Well I’m here to say, humans do just find without a magic pill.

Photo Credit- Info Barrel, Limitless Motion Picture

Humans have built rocket to send us to the moon and beyond. Humans have synthesized vaccines to save lives. Humans have even cloned other living things! So do we really need some magic pill that may help us see into the future? No. All we need is critical thinking.

Critical thinking to me is the ability to look beyond what sits in front of one’s face, and to take a deeper look, analyzing and researching ways to be better than one’s current state. With critical thinking, one has to look outside of the original plan and think bout all of the “what if’s” involved, then think of ways to combat those. Next, while critical thinking, one has to think how the proposed revised plan will either benefit or hurt the individual or organization. This can sometimes be a daunting task, but I assure you, no capes or super powers are needed (though sometimes a glass of wine or beer after can be pretty refreshing!).

Every great leader must use critical thinking when There are 5 factors that goes into critical thinking. These are: critical thinking, conceptual thinking, implementation thinking, innovative thinking, an intuitive thinking. These are listed here on Forbes:

  1. Critical thinking is the mental process of objectively analyzing a situation by gathering information from all possible sources, and then evaluating both the tangible and intangible aspects, as well as the implications of any course of action.
  2. Implementation thinking is the ability to organize ideas and plans in a way that they will be effectively carried out.
  3. Conceptual thinking consists of the ability to find connections or patterns between abstract ideas and then piece them together to form a complete picture.
  4. Innovative thinking involves generating new ideas or new ways of approaching things to create possibilities and opportunities.
  5. Intuitive thinking is the ability to take what you may sense or perceive to be true and, without knowledge or evidence, appropriately factor it in to the final decision.

Throughout the construction and organization of the University of Wisconsin- Stevens Point Concussion Education Program, my team and I have had to use critical thinking. There are so many factors that come into play when working to first obtain a grant and apply the best services for our students. Throughout the planning phase, I have had to analyze what the correct target population is, who is involved in the target community (those surrounding the target population), what is the root problem when dealing with concussion education (knowledge vs. attitude vs. access), and how to combat all other

Photo Credit- D. Ellis

various factors. I’ve created whats called a problem analysis in which I have deeply research concussion education and what has and has not work. I’ve looked at what teaching methods work best not only for this issue, but also for the specific target population. I have created a logic model, in which will help in providing answers to the “what if” questions. With all of this preparation, I feel that we can be very successful once we start to implement these plans. I think we have covered every step in the plan for critical thinking.

  1. Critical Thinking- I have taken the time to understand the root of the problem and the correct target audience through research and analytical models.
  2. Implementation Thinking- The logic models created as well as the ROI measures and monitoring strategies will help in making sure our plans are carried out.
  3. Conceptual Thinking- Taking all of the tools of social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc.) I will be able to piece all of the information together and see who we are reaching and how we can improve on sending out our message.
  4. Innovative Thinking- This is really outside of the box. Social media is a great avenue for education. This will be the first large scale approach ever conducted on our campus. By collaborating with other entities (Student Health, Counseling Services, and faculty of UWSP), we hope to provide support both on and offline.
  5. Intuitive Thinking- Since this is the first time something like this has ever been done, a lot of pressure has been put on me. I’m the “young voice”, the person who is supposed to be the most knowledgeable of my peers and how to reach them. Though I am new to Stevens Point, I have been around long enough to understand what people my age not only want, but need. I know I wont be able to speak for everyone, every gender, race, identity. But that challenges me to find out more about that group, minority, or individual. I know my resources. I am very confident we will succeed. I believe in myself. So I’d say that’s good enough intuitive thinking!

I know there is still more planning and tweaking to do before we kick start this idea. But I am confident we will be successful due to the amount of time, planning, and critical thinking involved.

“The human brain has 100 billion neurons, each neuron connected to 10 thousand other neurons. Sitting on your shoulders is the most complicated object in the known universe.”
-Michio Kaku

Recources:
Forbes.com- How to Develop 5 Critical Thinking Types

1 Comment

  1. First off, love the title. It is funny and definitely gets your attention. I also love the way you went about doing this assignment. You gave lots of information and proved that you knew how to critically think with your concussion education program. Great work!

    Like

Comments are closed.