The Benefits of Organizing Your Online Content

American families are busy, and always seem to be getting busier. While they’re doing their best to clean more efficiently, organize, and spend quality time rather than a quantity of time with the ones they love most, their health is often overlooked. Today’s family is more in need of nutrition education than families were before the surge in fast, convenient food. But they don’t have time for it. Community programs are experiencing low turnout at events and workshops that provide this education. They can’t pull families away from their busy lifestyles. Because of this dilemna, many community nutrition educators have turned to social media! Me included.
Evidence? nutrition in social media

It’s a challenge to deliver the same quantity and quality content online as we once could in person. I’ve found that creating a content calendar is essential in achieving this.

My personal experience:
After pitching the workshops for my Fruit and Vegetable Prescription (FVRx) Program, I turned to social media streams such as Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest. I thought to myself: in a workshop I have a theme. I can organize the themes of my workshop to flow with the timing of the Farmer’s Market season and the difficulty of the content. In a typical workshop, I have an hour to cover all of the information that coordinates with those themes. Online, all I get is a “blurb.” I knew I had to lay out my online content in a similar way if I wanted similar quality.
FVRx content cal pic
FVRx content calendar 

As I began creating my online content calendar, I knew what kind of information I wanted to cover, but didn’t exactly know what order it should go in, or how different messages could be grouped to create themes. I simply started filling out my calendar until the themes and order became evident. I noticed that I could group my messaging into 4 categories, which was convenient since there are four weeks in a month: 1) information about the Farmer’s Market, 2) local resources, 3) education, and 4) skills.

I used Facebook for the longer, more informative messages, Twitter for shorter reminders and quick tips, and Pinterest for recipes. Once I had this much organized in a calendar format, I could easily create messages that covered all of the necessary topics, and in the appropriate order for the season. I have to admit that I am very relieved to be able to say that the educational piece to my program can now be completed with timely clicks.

3 Comments

  1. I really like how you set up your calendar. It had very good and specific information that was very helpful for anyone viewing it, and also very helpful in organizing your content to make that process easier.

    Like

  2. Ashley,

    I thought you did a great job with your calendar. The layout was very informative and made it easy to see where you wanted your program to go each day. I also thought that you did a good job talking about what you learned while creating your calendar. Keep up the good work!

    Like

  3. Ashley,
    Good job on your content marketing strategy. I liked the layout of your calendar and really liked your topic. This is something that I am pretty passionate about as well so I enjoyed reading this. Good job overall.

    Like

Comments are closed.